Über mich

Info
Ich bin spezialisiert auf Völkerrecht, Menschenrechte und Legal Data Science.

Meine juristische Praxis und akademische Forschung konzentrieren sich auf den internationalen Menschenrechtsschutz, kulturelle Menschenrechte, das humanitäre Völkerrecht und das Völkerstrafrecht. Ein besonderes Augenmerk lege ich auf den Schutz des kulturellen Erbes im Irak und die Verfolgung der völkerrechtlichen Verbrechen des Islamischen Staates (auch bekannt als ISIS, ISIL oder Da’esh). Ich bin Ko-Autor einer Vielzahl von Berichten über die Menschenrechtslage im Irak und Erstautor des international beachteten Berichts ‘Destroying the Soul of the Yazidis: Cultural Heritage Destruction during the Islamic State’s Genocide against the Yazidis’, der nach einer peer review als wissenschaftlicher Beitrag veröffentlicht wurde.

Als Data Scientist bin ich auf die Verarbeitung natürlicher Sprache in juristischen Texten (NLP), quantitative Friedensforschung, Data Engineering und Datenanalyse mit der statistischen Programmiersprache R spezialisiert. Ich bin zudem Erstautor und Hauptentwickler von mehr als einem Dutzend open access Forschungsdatensätzen, vorwiegend Korpora von juristischen und politischen Texten mit quantitativen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten in den Rechtswissenschaften, Politikwissenschaften und der Ökonomie. Meine Open Source Software entwickle ich öffentlich auf GitHub und veröffentliche stabile und zitierfähige Versionen auf Zenodo, dem wissenschaftlichen Repositorium des Kernforschungszentrums CERN.

Seit 2017 bin ich als Chief Legal Officer der NGO RASHID International tätig, die auf den Schutz des irakischen Kulturguts spezialisiert ist und bei den Vereinten Nationen special consultative status innehat. Meine Dissertation über ein Thema an der Schnittstelle von Völkerrecht, internationalem Menschenrechtsschutz, Anthropologie und Friedensforschung wird aktuell von der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes gefördert.

Ich habe an der Ludwig-Maximilians Universität München (LMU) und am Trinity College Dublin (TCD) Rechtswissenschaften studiert und die Erste Juristische Prüfung in Bayern mit Prädikat, einer Spezialisierung auf Europa- und Völkerrecht, sowie einem Preis für besonders herausragende Leistungen im Völkerrecht abgeschlossen.

Im Jahr 2022 habe ich die San Franciso Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA) unterschrieben, die die Art und Weise verbessern möchte, in der die Ergebnisse wissenschaftlicher Forschung bewertet werden, insbesondere durch die starke Einschränkung der Nutzung von Kennzahlen (z.B. Journal Impact Factor), der Förderung ethischer Zitierpraxis und der Betonung des wissenschaftlichen Inhalts von Publikationen anstatt dem Renommée wissenschaftlicher Zeitschriften oder Verlage.

About

Info
I specialize in international law, human rights and legal data science.

My practical legal work and academic research focus on international human rights law, cultural rights, humanitarian law and international criminal law, with a particular emphasis on the protection of cultural heritage in Iraq and the prosecution of atrocity crimes committed by Da’esh (also known as ISIS, ISIL or the Islamic State). I am co-author of numerous reports on the situation of human rights in Iraq and lead author of the internationally noted ‘Destroying the Soul of the Yazidis: Cultural Heritage Destruction during the Islamic State’s Genocide against the Yazidis’ report, which was later published as a peer-reviewed academic paper.

As a data scientist, I specialize in natural language processing (NLP) and machine learning in the legal domain, quantitative peace research, data engineering and data analysis with the R programming language. I am the first author and maintainer of more than a dozen open access research data sets, primarily corpora of legal and political texts, with quantitative and qualitative applications in the fields of law, political science and economics. My open source software is developed in public on GitHub, with stable and citeable versions released on Zenodo, the scientific repository of the high-energy physics research organization CERN.

Since 2017, I have served as the Chief Legal Officer of RASHID International, an international non-profit organization dedicated to safeguarding the cultural heritage of Iraq with special consultative status at the United Nations. I am pursuing a PhD in international law at Ludwig-Maximilian University of Munich (LMU) under the supervision of Professor Dr. Christian Walter. My research at the intersection of human rights, anthropology and peace research is funded by a PhD scholarship of the Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, Germany’s largest, oldest and most prestigious scholarship foundation.

I received my law degree with distinction (Prädikat) from Ludwig-Maximilian University of Munich (LMU) with a specialization in European and International Public Law, including an award for exceptionally outstanding achievements in international law.

In 2022 I signed the San Franciso Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA), which aims to improve the ways in which the output of scientific research is evaluated by sharply limiting the use of publication metrics (e.g. the Journal Impact Factor), promoting ethical citation practice and placing primary importance on the scientific content of articles instead of their place of publication.